My Experiments With Untruth: Part 1

Author : Gyan Jain

[A little background before I start writing about the book. I have started reading (non technical books) lately again. I am reading Mahatma Gandhi’s autobiography “My Experiments With Truth”. While searching for more books in Landmark my friend showed me this book and the title forced me to read the transcipt and eventually buy the book. Well, those who have read “Who Moved My Cheese” by Spencer Johnson can read parodies relating to “cheese” concept especially Darrel Bristow-Bovey’s “I Moved Your Cheese”.]

My Experiments With Untruth cannot but remind us – as it is perhaps intended to do – of Mahatma Gandhi’s autobiography titled “My Experiments With Truth”. But, there the resemblance ends. There is no scope for comparing the two.

This eminently readable autobiographical novel traces the life and trials of a person who aspires to be the prime minister of India. He is food for nothing fellow who scrapes through high school after having been allowed to cheat in the examination and then is expelled from his college to become a lowly clerk in the post office after flashing a fake degree. It just goes to prove that one does not need any qualifications to “serve the nation”. One needs to be wholly corrupt and wholly liar in order to stay in power in this country. The author writes in first person, which only adds to the ludicrousness of each and every situation in the story.

The author’s diatribe against the shocking state of Indian politics is never ending but what makes this book quite readable is that the protagonist cloaks everything he says in humor and constantly cites great authors, politicians, philosophers and famous personalities to drive the point home.

The first page of the book cites former US President Ronald Reagan-

Politics I suppose to be the second oldest profession. I have come to realize that it bears a very close resemblance to the first.

(Those quick witted can guess the “oldest profession”. Others can contact me;)).

The protagonist claims in the beginning itself – that history is full of rags-to-riches stories but from dumps to darling-of-the-people story of his is unique and unparalleled.

More about the book in the next part.

One thought on “My Experiments With Untruth: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Books of year 2009 « Siddhesh’s Abhivyakty

Leave a Reply

